St. Martin's Lantern parade during German Christmas market, Christkindlmarkt Salt Lake City, at This Is The Place Heritage Park

a charming tradition!

Inspired by the world-famous German Christmas markets while living in Frankfurt, Germany, Allyson Chard wanted to create a similar experience in her hometown of Salt Lake City. In 2012, Chard partnered with This is the Place Heritage Park to make a Salt Lake Christkindlmarkt a reality. The success of the market is thanks to a vibrant volunteer committee of 25 individuals who help plan this annual cultural event as well as the generous donations of community sponsors. Visitors stroll through wooden vendor booths nestled against the magical backdrop of This is the Place Heritage Park where they can purchase tantalizing food and unique products while enjoying festive holiday entertainment.

A primary goal of the Christkindlmarkt SLC is to focus on the principle of giving to others and celebrating that service. The market is based on the German story of St. Martin who was known to cut his cloak in half and share warmth with a beggar. The signature events of the market are the daily children’s parades honoring St. Martin as well as the children’s groups who have participated in an act of service prior to the market. Our slogan is, “putting the KIND in ChristKINDlmarkt.” The Christkindlmarkt is a non-profit organization dedicated to creating an enriched community event for Salt Lake City.


Christkindlmarkt Volunteer Steering Committee:
  • Allyson Chard - Founder and Chair
  • Mary Jo Ahlin Falkner
  • Dr. Teresa Bell
  • James T. Burton - Honorary Consul of Germany
  • Kristin Christensen
  • Kristin Drysdale
  • Antje Evans
  • Amy Garff
  • Anna Hirschi
  • Steve Hirschi
  • Marged Kirkpatrick
  • Kristine O'Brien
  • Sabrina Petersen
  • Kathy Peterson
  • Carol Thomas
  • Barbara Thompson
  • Harriet Uchtdorf
  • Jessica Jenkins - Secretary

Special thanks to these Volunteers:
  • Carol Brande
  • Taylor Brown
  • Elaine Craven
  • Olivia Gochnour
  • Kelli Harris
  • Andi Wagstaff